dressin' · feminist thinkin'

Body-positivity|Audrey Hepburn

DSC_0120

What I am wearing: Tally Weijl skirt, handmade sweater (from my granny), Caledonia tights

You probably know Audrey Hepburn from the numerous movies she’s created and you probably also fell in love with her aesthetics, like I did. There was and sometimes still is, where I adored her to the point, that I idealized her too much. I had to look like her, had to be like her and had to have the same figure as her. Her style just was and is one of the greatest inspirations to me, I have filled my whole Pinterest board with photos of her, and I am naturally striving to copy her effortless, vintage, classic look, but at he same time, I thought I could only pull all that off, if I was as thin and lean and especially tall as her. All her dresses and skirts and trousers would only look good on me at a certain weight. And that certain weight wasn’t nearly my healthy weight, I weighted much too less, yes maybe, I had the same bmi as audrey did, but did that make me look like her? No. Simply because there is no way, that you can look completely like another person, especially if one only focusses oneself on the weight aspect (which was the biggest to me at that time). Let’s think about this whole situation: Why would I want to look like someone else, when I could just enhance myself and how I look? Why would I starve myself to a unhealthy weight, only to be ill and miserable and not good-looking then? Why do I set my icon, who did so much more than just look pretty, on a higher scale than myself? Aren’t we all worth the same and aren’t we all good enough just for being? Why should size or height or race or gender or anything even matter? Why does it in this society? I am asking myself these same questions every day and I always, always come to the conclusion, that there is so much more to life, than just beauty, a certain body shape and what you have eaten or not eaten on that day. Lemme tell you girl, I don’t think Miss Hepburn would be proud of us for trying to change ourselves and starving ourselves at a full-set table. We are living creatures that deserve every right to eat and express oneself, we need every body shape and we need to cherish every body shape and height and color and whatnot. It’s not healthy not to be at the weight your body is designed to naturally be, and who wants to be ill. I do not, thank you very much.

DSC_0121

DSC_0123

Comment

