inspirin'

10 movie reviews

DSC_0062Dear friends, in the last months I watched many many movies, mainly in the holidays, because I finally had time and energy to do so in the evenings. Normally I just eat and go to bed, because I am way too tired to do anything else but stroll through Instagram or sleep, ha! Now I present you 10 reviews of movies I watched, I’ll all rate them with 1-5 stars 🌟 , depending on much I liked them or not. Mind you I love watching films and series and I think they are extremely inspiring, not only on my fashion style, but also how I think about the world and how I feel. I am trying not to be too easily manipulated, but like everything else, I can’t help but get influences by books and movies and internet people. Let’s get rollin’

Now is Good

“Tessa is seventeen and passionate about life. Diagnosed with a terminal illness, she determines to use every moment, compiling a catalogue of what normal teenager would experience, including losing her virginity and taking drugs. With the help of her friend, she sets the list in motion. And while her parents and brother each deals with their fear of losing her in their own way, Tessa explores a whole new world, determined to live every day as intensely as possible. Falling in love with Adam, her new neighbor, wasnt on the list, but it proves to be the most exhilarating experience of them all.” (source)

This is a tissue-in -our-hands-the-whole-time movie and let me tell you it is a great movie. If you like romance, if you like coming-of-age, if you like a bit of rebellion against the rest of your world and if you like all that mixed up with a little bit of deeper stuff, this is for you. I really enjoyed watching this film and I love all the actors in their roles, of course it’s sad, but it’s also beautiful and I can only say it is worth watching. You’ll feel kind of relieved or hopeful afterwards, very inspiring!

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

The perks of being a Wallflower

“Based on the novel written by Stephen Chbosky, this is about 15-year-old Charlie (Logan Lerman), an endearing and naive outsider, coping with first love (Emma Watson), the suicide of his best friend, and his own mental illness while struggling to find a group of people with whom he belongs. The introvert freshman is taken under the wings of two seniors, Sam and Patrick, who welcome him to the real world.” (source)

Personally, this is one of my favorite movies of all time, not only because it is also one of my favorite books of all time, but because it is so beautifully made. The vintage vibes and the great actors. In my opinion it isn’t too typical of a american movie, like they almost always are, if they are set in high schools, but it goes deeper within. It isn’t too different from the novel either and everything is just in harmony. Again, it is a coming-of-age movie, which I obviously like and it is also a movie where there will be some tears falls down on the couch. But just see it. Love it!

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Paper towns

“Adapted from the bestselling novel by author John Green, PAPER TOWNS is a coming-of-age story centering on Quentin and his enigmatic neighbor Margo, who loved mysteries so much she became one. After taking him on an all-night adventure through their hometown, Margo suddenly disappears – leaving behind cryptic clues for Quentin to decipher. The search leads Quentin and his quick-witted friends on an exhilarating adventure that is equal parts hilarious and moving. Ultimately, to track down Margo, Quentin must find a deeper understanding of true friendship – and true love.” (source)

To be honest, I did not like this movie. I mean I like some of John Green’s novels and I loved the fault in our stars (movie and book), but this movie is just unrealistic, too american and completely boring. I was glad when it was over and in my opinion not worth the time. Nothing more to add.

I’d give: 🌟

Silver Linings

“Pat Solitano (Bradley Cooper), who has bipolar disorder, is released from a mental health facility into the care of his parents after eight months of treatment. He learns that his wife, Nikki (Brea Bee), has moved away and his father, Pat Sr. (Robert De Niro), is out of work and resorting to bookmaking to earn money to start a restaurant. Pat is determined to get his life back on track and reconcile with Nikki, who obtained a restraining order against him after the violent episode that sent him away.” (source)

I’ve seen this movie twice now and it was still as good the second time as it was the first time. You will laugh, laugh, laugh, even tough it has such a (for me) scary plot with all he mental illness and stuff. But they didn’t make it unrealistic, it was just cranky, funny, and beautiful in one. You’ll learn so much more about mental illnesses and about people and how you can love each other and just be yourself! Watch! Now!

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Frankenweenie

“In New Holland, the boy Victor Frankenstein is a bright but outcast student without any friend but his dog Sparky. When the newcomer science teacher Mr. Rzykruski challenges the students to participate in the science fair, Victor’s father forces him to play baseball otherwise he would not sign the necessary authorization for his son. During the game, Sparky chases the ball and is hit by a car. Victor recalls Mr. Rzykruski’s class about the effects of electricity and successfully resuscitates Sparky using lightning. Victor hides Sparky in the attic but the weird Edgar sees the dog on the garden and blackmails Victor to learn how to bring the dead to life. Edgar does not keep the secret and soon Victor’s envious schoolmates revive several creatures to win the science fair contest. When the town is invaded by the monsters, Victor and Sparky are the last chance to rescue the girl Elsa van Helsing from the claws of Mr. Whiskers.” (source)

I love tim Burton movies, but I have to say, that this one wasn’t as interesting as the rest of his work. I especially love his real action movies, but I also like his animations and style. In my opinion it was a little boring, it wasn’t scary, but I also enjoyed it because of the artwork and how the story is adapted from frankenstein, but something completely different and very creative. I think this is a must-watch for my friends Kathi from teepüppchen.

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟

 

North Sea Texas

“A young Pim and his mother, Yvette, live in the Belgian countryside with their dog, a Miniature Pinscher named Mirza. The mother, a lonely divorcee, plays a piano accordion, and patronizes a local bar called Texas. One day Pim and his mother attend a fair, where they meet a traveling carny named Zoltan. Zoltan is kind to the younger Pim, and Pim is infatuated. Zoltan rents a room in Yvette’s home intermittently, but later stops coming to town. Meanwhile, Yvette begins spending time with a man named Etienne, who is brutish and macho, and whom Pim immediately despises.” (source)

This movie is of a completely different style than the normal hollywood films. I enjoyed it, especially the subject of the film, as to me it is very interesting how other people try to portray it. In my opinion homosexuality was portrayed as a completely accepted kind of love. Not like in most stories, where the boys (or girls) have problems because of their orientation, this is what I best liked about the movie. It is also coming-of-age and the cinematography is very great, I really enjoyed this alternative movie!

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

If I stay

“Mia Hall thought the hardest decision she would ever face would be whether to pursue her musical dreams at Juilliard or follow a different path to be with the love of her life, Adam. But what should have been a carefree family drive changes everything in an instant, and now her own life hangs in the balance. Caught between life and death for one revealing day, Mia has only one decision left, which will not only decide her future but her ultimate fate.” (source)

This movie is also a coming-of-age movie, so naturally I enjoyed it. It was so heartbreaking, but also so heartwarming at the same time. It inspired me a lot to do my own thing and to just wait and see what’ll happen. That there’s a person for everyone out there who’ll love you-your soulmate. It also teaches you to enjoy the moment. I loved this movie I’definitely watch it again.

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

The Incredibles

“Bob Parr (A.K.A. Mr. Incredible), and his wife Helen (A.K.A. Elastigirl), are the world’s greatest famous crime-fighting superheroes in Metroville. Always saving lives and battling evil on a daily basis. But fifteen years later, they have been forced to adopt civilian identities and retreat to the suburbs where they have no choice but to retire as superheroes to live a “normal life” with their three children Violet, Dash and Jack-Jack (who were secretly born with superpowers). Itching to get back into action, Bob gets his chance when a mysterious communication summons him to a remote island for a top secret assignment. He soon discovers that it will take a super family effort to rescue the world from total destruction.” (source)

I liked this movie, but it wasn’t something special. I a now 18 years old, so I don’t connect it with my childhood. I think it’s a great movie for kids, with a learning-effect, too, but not my kind of tuna any more, hm.

I’d give: 🌟🌟

 

Maria, ihm schmeckt’s nicht

“Jan wants to marry the German-Italian Sara. Nothing spectacular. Just a small civil marriage. But then Jan had not quite reckoned with his future father-in-law. Antonio, who had come to Germany in 1965 as a guest worker and is married to the German Ursula, insists on having the wedding in Southern Italy. Basta! Jan, Sara, and her parents set off to Campobello to organize the large wedding with the entire clan. Confronted with a southern temperament, foreign cuisine, soft beds and rigid bureaucracy, Jan is forced to ask himself one day whether Sara and her family are really the right thing for him…” (source)

This movie was funny, but it stretched out so far, at least that is how I felt. Like I’ve sat there for forever. Still it was a really good cliche german-italian movie, I feel like both nationalities are very well portrayed and I think it’s really cool for foreigners to watch, haha.

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

her

“Theodore is a lonely man in the final stages of his divorce. When he’s not working as a letter writer, his down time is spent playing video games and occasionally hanging out with friends. He decides to purchase the new OS1, which is advertised as the world’s first artificially intelligent operating system, “It’s not just an operating system, it’s a consciousness,” the ad states. Theodore quickly finds himself drawn in with Samantha, the voice behind his OS1. As they start spending time together they grow closer and closer and eventually find themselves in love. Having fallen in love with his OS, Theodore finds himself dealing with feelings of both great joy and doubt. As an OS, Samantha has powerful intelligence that she uses to help Theodore in ways others hadn’t, but how does she help him deal with his inner conflict of being in love with an OS?” (source)

Whoop the last movie, which was completely different than what I expected it to be, but actually really good. I liked the cinematography (it had something from wes anderson) and also the futuristic feel. I think it is a must watch, but everyone has to make up thrown mind weather one likes it or not.

I’d give: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

This was a lot of work, so I hope someone enjoys it! xx

 

Comment

