feminist thinkin'

Disliked Body Parts

DSC_0085Halla friends,

this post is a Body Positivity post, even tough the title doesn’t seem like it. Let me explain the situation. Every human being and maybe even the animals and plants (I mean who knows?) have parts of their body, that they don’t like. I’ve never met anyone com-plete-ly happy with how they look and that’s something I think girls struggle with even more than boys. But I can’t be sure since I am just a complaining girl, but my friends all have little parts, that they try to hide. because they are embarrassed of them. So this isn’t very easy for me, but I am going to list my most unliked Body Parts and then I am going to get over my embarrassment and show them to the world. I want to turn my thoughts around and make the flaws my lovely little beauty marks, that make me me. I want to fully accept myself. This is a journey, showing it in school, my friends, even crushes and such. I think it’ll be difficult, but the more I’ll do it, the easier it always gets and I’ll be 10 steps better at long myself how I am and not comparing too much anymore. I want to be myself and not live someone else’s life or ambitions. So here we go on this journey. Feel free to comment your disliked body parts and go with me on this journey!

  • My feet

I have always hated my feet. For as long as I can remember and I’ve always tried to hide them. Even when it was in the middle of summer and everyone was sweating, I was wearing socks and sneaker, only so that no-one would see my feet. You know what I’ve never actually heard someone say to me, that they are this ugly and what if, that’s no reason for me to sweat my feet off and feel uncomfortable, so I bought myself (after years!) some sandals and I’ve even worn them with friends. I’ve also tried to keep a little care of my toenails and the skin, moisturizing it and painting them. They are no beauty for advertisement, but I don’t care anymore now, the people like you for how you are!2.

  • My hands

I’ve also always been quiet self-doubting about my hands, they are no beauty and I thought for a long time, they were fat, when in reality, I have really small and delicate hands and finders. I also think, that they do not look as bad as I’ve always thought, especially when I take care of them, cutten them short and painting them in a natural color, like you can see in the picture. Definitely no commercial beauty, but they actually make great things as the blog name “Goldhände” (golden hands).

What do you think of them?

  • My legs

They are my main “problem”, if such thing is a problem (thinking the non eating-disorder way). I always thought and often think they are too fat and chubby and short and all in all not beauty. I want to change this mind-set so badly, because it has driven me into a eating disorder as well and I only ever look if my legs are fat in this jeans or those and it is so bizarre. Why do I complain, they take me everywhere again (now that I am healthy) and they are me. Especially in the Vintage/Retro Community, curves like my hips and legs are greatly encouraged and nothing to be ashamed of. Every body type is liked in that community and that’s also one think I love so much about dressing pin-up, rockabilly, all the old decades. Of course some girls and boys inspired by those decades also have eating disorders, but it’s much better than on the high fashion runways (aka. Chanel, Dolce&Gabbana, H&M, etc.) I don’t want to hide it under very long skirts and dresses, but it actually really brings out my waist, which is nice. I want to be able to wear shorts and mini-skirts and pants, as well as dresses and skirts! (I think this is the most common problem for girls, getting that “thigh gap”)

  • My red cheeks

Recently I’ve heard someone say, that whenever she drinks alcohol, her cheeks start to turn red and pink, like she’s on fire and she actually really loves it and finds it very cute! That’s the same for me, just like in my case it is normal. If it’s hot or cold or if I am stresses or something (or alcohol of course) I get this really blushed cheeks and I’ve always hated them. But why, some people even paint this shade on themselves, because of beauty standards or something. I always wanted to have just a slight blush, but my genes just are different. It was something I always thought why other couldn’t like me, but that’s rubbish, embrace the pink!

  • My breasts

My boobs are small, that’s no secret and I’ve always wanted bigger boobs and thinner legs. But that’s just not how it works, and when I lost weight, I didn’t have much breast at all any more. Now they are back to my normal and I am okay with it. I’ve seen many people with similar breasts, who have boyfriends and friends and they don’t care. I just mustn’t fit some standard! I like the size now, I think, or I am going to like it, fully!

Much Love.

DSC_0095

Comment

